Norco College Technology Committee Meeting

12:50pm-1:50 p.m. IT 218 February 15, 2018

MINUTES

Present	Absent
Ruth Leal (Co-Chair)	Daniel Lambros (IMC)
Damon Nance (Library)	Kim K. Kamerin (AHWL)
Lenny Riley (DOI)	Daren Koch (Tutorial)
Sergio Quiroz (ASNC)	Vanessa Acosta (A&R)
Cathy Brotherton (CIS/BEIT)	James Finley (CIS/GAM)
Janet Frewing (Math)	
Mitzi Sloniger (COMM)	Guest

- 1. Call to Order 12:50 p.m.
- 2. Consent Calendar- Ruth Leal
 - a. December 13, 2017 Minutes were reviewed. It was noted that ASNC student Deven Fafard transferred to UCR in the winter.

Motion (Sloniger/Brotherton). Approved.

- 3. Technology Plan Ruth
 - a. Subcommittees Report Ms. Leal provided an update regarding the subcommittees and shared a current subcommittee list.
 - i. Goal #1 25 Live training was provided in the Spring Staff Professional Development Day where over 30 classified staff members participated. Other trainings took place on campus in the fall semester that were technology related. The subcommittee will gather the list of trainings to provide to the committee.
 - ii. Goal #3 The Technology Requests Prioritization Lists will be on the February 21st ISPC agenda for approval to accept the work of the committee. The lists will be posted to the committee's webpage as well.
 - iii. Goal #6 Phase II computers were not all installed in the summer as reported and an email was sent to all of the users to see if their computer was replaced or still needs to be replaced. We received many responses that the computers were not replaced, many of them faculty computers.

 Departments purchased new computers out of their own budgets. The list was sent to Mr. Reeves and TSS to follow-up. Mr. Reeves reported that the

53 computers in the warehouse were installed in IT 121 and that new computers would be purchased to backfill the list of computers from Phase II that were not installed last summer. The committee received a request from a faculty member, Jessica Dobson, who is requesting for her computer to be replaced with a Mac computer because she is a Mac user and is currently bringing her laptop to use which is challenging due to medical issues. The committee discussed placing Ms. Dobson high on the list for a replacement and would look into the age of her computer to see if it could get replaced with the new computers being purchased.

- b. Accreditation 2020 The committee discussed the upcoming ISER and the Accreditation Standard IIIC which directly applies to the work of the Technology Committee. There is an Accreditation Steering Committee which has appointed Janet Frewing as the faculty co-chair of the Standard IIIC Committee and it needs a staff co-chair that cannot be Ruth Leal as she is the Accreditation Staff Co-Chair. The committee decided after a thorough discussion to work on the standard as a committee since the items are part of the Technology Strategic Plan and on every committee meeting agenda and that there is great representation from all constituencies. Ms. Leal will report back to the Accreditation Committee with the decision and names of members of the Technology Committee sans duplication.
- c. Work Order Process & Tech Support No report.
- 5. 25 Live Leonard Riley
 - a. Mr. Riley reported that he started running processes that were backed-up. Since January this has been done and now it is up-to-date. Mr. Riley encourage use of 25 Live and that problems are minimal now. He has been working with district IT to keep it up-to-date and plans to upgrade the system.
- 5. Website Leonard Riley
 - a. No update.

Technology Projects – Dan Lambros

- a. No report.
- 6. Open Forum
 - a. Damon Nance reported that the Library Platform from the state is expected to be in place by June and that the state is looking for a vendor. The state will cover the system and the college is expected to cover the maintenance.

Adjourned: 1:50 p.m.

Next meeting will be March 15, 2018 in IT218

Norco College Technology Committee

Spring 2018

Technology Committee Members

(5 Faculty, 5 Classified Staff, 2 Students, 2 Administrators)

Membership	
Faculty:	
Cathy Brotherton (5)	
Janet Frewing (4)	
James Finley (6)	
Mitzi Sloniger (5)	
Kim Kameron (4)	
Staff:	
Vanessa Acosta (3)	
Daniel Lambros (6)	
Ruth Leal (2, 7)	
Leonard Riley (7)	
Daren Koch (1)	
Student:	
Sergio Quiroz (7)	
Devon Farrad (1)	
Administrators:	
Damon Nance (2)	
Vacant (3)	
Non-voting:	
Vacant (Recorder)	